Hair cut! and Glama-Rama

So, it had been a reeeeally long time since my last hair trim, and I finally decided it was time to do something more interesting with my locks. I have never really had what I would term “exciting” hair, but I have liked how it looked so I never really felt compelled to try doing anything else… recently though I’ve been thinking it might be fun to have more style options than “up” or “down”, haha.

Here’s some before pictures of the mop my hair had grown into before I took the plunge. I really did like this hair, but it was just time to do something else.

hairbefore  hairbefore3

Being fairly new in the area (i.e. not having had a cut here yet) and never really having had what I would consider a “regular” stylist (since I’ve always just gotten pretty basic trims and normal stuff before) I entreated good old Internetty for advice on where to get a stylish coiffure.

After poking through some reviews, I decided to try a place called Glama-Rama in SF. And it turned out to be the best hair/salon experience of my LIFE.

First of all, the place had seriously awesome decor (inside. The outside is what I would call “Mission District Austere”, i.e. extremely plain facade, bars on all the windows, etc haha) – all the walls, doorframes, furniture, and decorations were awesome exciting colors like different bright pinks, teal, sea green, and more.

glamarama2

So basically I was in heaven.

glamarama1 

glamarama4

glamarama3

Wow, I reaaally wanted to try on those wigs. Especially the pink ones, haha. I just loved the vibe of this place and felt good being there. So, this is what it’s like to have a hairdresser and salon you adore! And, it was reasonably priced, which was also nice.

My stylist, Sara, was completely awesome as well… definitely my favorite I’ve ever been to anywhere. She was ridiculously friendly from the get-go and we had a lot of fun chatting. She also listened to EXACTLY what I wanted and made great suggestions for the cut I wanted, and proceeded to work very carefully, making sure I was satisfied with every part of it.

I had a good idea of what I wanted before going in, but I didn’t have a picture or anything, just explained it to her and she did a really great job (in my opinion!). It’s a kind of longish angled bob.

hurr2 hurr3

I am excited about trying all kinds of different styles with it, ‘cause I think it’s going to be really versatile. ^_^ She also gave me a lot of styling advice and ideas along the way which was very much appreciated too!

Oh yeah, and I am sending some of my hair to Locks of Love 😉 I hope you serve someone else as well as you’ve served me, hair.

locks

Even after she got done with the rest of the cutting, it looked like a small fluffy blond animal had exploded under my chair, haha.

hairbefore2     hurr4

So yeah! Ch-ch-changes. This was the perfect salon for this type of dramatic change, I have to say. I had such an enjoyable time and am really pleased with the results. I definitely plan to return to Glama-Rama in due time!

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “Hair cut! and Glama-Rama”

  1. slamdunk Says:

    Locks of Love is a fantastic program. Thanks for plugging it.

    • cutesaurus Says:

      My utter pleasure! Previously I was concerned I couldn’t donate because of the “no chemically treated hair” policy, but both stylists at the salon said highlighted hair was okay, so I was really pleased to be able to do so.

  2. chelsea Says:

    so cute, rem. I just got my hair cut too! Its a really short 20’s type of bob and looks adorable with headbands.

  3. Kate Says:

    Your hair looks excellent – it’s always a little scary making such a big change but the cut really works for you! & that salon is gorgeous!

    • cutesaurus Says:

      Thank you so much! I was a little bit intimidated of lopping off all my hair, but once I found this place I knew it was meant to be, and I have not had a single regret since I did it 🙂 I’m so happy with my new ‘do! and I really can’t wait until I can go back to this amazing salon, haha.

  4. Mermaid Says:

    What a interesting looking salon. Your hair came out great, I love A line cuts.

Leave a Reply

